The Devver Blog

A Boulder startup improving the way developers work.

Playing with Processing, Making Snow

What is Processing?

“Processing is an open source programming language and environment for people who want to program images, animation, and interactions.”
Processing.org

I wanted to play around with doing some visual programming and had played with Processing in the past. I recently had been reading about Ruby-Processing and wanted to give it a shot. First, I went to look for some Ruby-Processing tutorials, and I had recently heard about the presentation by Jeff Casimir about the ‘Art of Code‘ (slides and code), using Ruby-Processing. I went through those examples and decided I wanted to modify it to display snowflakes in the spirit of winter. After a bit of searching I found a project that generated a Penrose snow flake using Ruby-Processing. I figured I could modify the programs to get a nice snow flake screen saver type app. The result is my app Processing-Snow, and is shown in the screen shot below.

Processing-Snow

Playing around with Ruby-Processing is a lot of fun, I highly recommend spending a couple hours to make a tiny app. I built my Snow app in about an hour and a half. Then I spent a bit of time using Caliper to improve the metrics. For such a small project there wasn’t a lot to improve, but it still helped me to do some refactoring. To get an idea of the code you can view Processing-Snow’s Metrics.

Feel free to fork Processing-Snow on GitHub and read about how to run it with in the projectss README.

Written by DanM

December 23, 2009 at 8:16 pm

Posted in Hacking, Misc, Ruby

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I thought snowflakes were basically hexagonal in feature. Given a high enough supersaturation, it is possible that they produce six almost identical fern-like branches.

    Otherwise, pretty cool.šŸ™‚

    AccUser

    January 6, 2010 at 4:32 pm


Comments are closed.

